Cooking/Food! #2

4 Apr

I was a big, fat, cheating cheater in Vegas. There was absolutely NOTHING paleo about my vacation… The only exclusions I made to my meals were in order to make room to finish more.

Here’s a breakdown of my 5 days of deliciousness!

Day 1 – Friday

My second experience with In-N-Out Burger. These burgers are only $1.90! That’s insane! And they are just so fucking good. There’s no other way to describe it… I only ate one of these burgers. I was with two friends. My friend M was so hilarious. At first, he didn’t want to eat it, but he was so hungry he caved. And then he giggled. And then he talked about it for the next four days. I’m only upset that we didn’t get to go back and order our burgers “Animal Style.”

OMG these burgers are so delicious and worth every calorie.

For Friday night’s dinner we ate at Sushi Samba at the Venetian Hotel. While this wasn’t the best restaurant I’ve ever eaten at in my entire life, the meal itself was lovely. A bunch of us shared the food and that gave us the opportunity to try multiple dishes such as:

The Tuna Tataki - this dish deserves capital letters.

We talked about the tuna tataki for a couple of days afterwards. It was the BEST part of the meal. The tuna was seared to perfection, the sauce was amazing.

The wagyu beef - no capitals - I'm not into mushrooms so this was just OK.

Once we had polished off all the starters (there were more), we descended upon a plate of sushi! I ❤ Sushi. I have dreams about sushi. This sushi was quite delicious. Like I mentioned earlier, this wasn’t the BEST meal I’ve had in my entire life, but the company was great and we had a wonderful evening.

The plate of sushi.

Saturday was another BIG food day. After our morning adventure, we headed off to Serendipity 3 at Caesars Palace. This was well worth the wait, and it was a beautiful day outside so we were able to sit outside on the patio.

Now I’ve never been a sweets kind of girl, but I decided to taste my friend’s peanut butter frrrrrozen hot chocolate and HOLY MOLY that could convert anyone! AMAZING and I don’t want to know how many grams of sugar. I only had two sips.

For brunch, I decided to order the breakfast burger – complete with fried egg, bacon and cheese and a very healthy dose of my new favorite hot sauce Cholula! I was very excited to find it and buy it at my local grocery store when I came home. Now, I ordered my breakfast burger without a bun – who needs the filler – and ordered a Mimosa instead! This was one super satisfying meal!

Breakfast burgering on a Saturday morning!

Now Saturday night’s dinner could get an entire entry of it’s own. This was BY FAR the most amazing meal of the trip and maybe the most amazing meal I’ve had in a very long time. My friend’s friend suggested we try out Lotus of Siam, a little Thai place off the strip that has an extensive German wine collection (they do, it’s 30 pages of the wine list). This restaurant is not on the strip, so it definitely requires a taxi, but if you travel in a group, it’s only a few dollars per person and worth every penny! Also – the food here is very inexpensive when you compare it to restaurants on the strip. Our meal (including alcohol) was under $40 a person and we ate like it was going out of style.

Here’s a sampling of our dinner:

Won Ton Soup!

Oh, the fried won tons

Thai Curry Beef

The most incredible Pad Thai in the UNIVERSE!

And finally – the item that made me loosen my belt:

The "holy mother of god" fried bananas.

We had other dishes too that night – a really yummy fried rice dish, chicken and vegetables, mangoes with sticky coconut rice – and ALL IN MY BELLY!

Other days involved eating conference food – hors d’oeuvres, boxed lunches, nothing to write home about. On our last day in Vegas I was so fooded out that I was excited to order a small piece of organic grilled salmon. Apparently this was a very good thing! My friends decided we should finish off our trip with one last awesome restaurant and when in Vegas, you must hit a buffet! Go big or go home, so off to the buffet at the Wynn! This hotel is so gorgeous, I didn’t even need to eat there. I could have just wandered around and around.

But back to the food…

Plate #1 of 4.

The Wynn buffet truly has something for everyone. There are at least 20 different stations: salads, cheeses, meats, carving stations, Indian, American, Asisan stations. And the KING CRAB legs. Watching people walk around with their plates piled high with crab legs was amazing! I don’t know where they are went, but mine got dipped in melted butter and went straight to my hips.

Better than dinner was the dessert stations. Build your own sundae, freshly-made crepes, marshmallows dipped in chocolate and covered in sprinkles, candied apples, mini cakes, cupcakes and more. Truly decadent!

And that, my friends, was 5 days of food. I’m back in the city and being punished for my gluttony with some sort of stomach bug/food hatred thing and I’ve been feeling pretty much like crap for the last two days. Paleo is calling. No more carbs, sugar or dairy… Not much of anything in the last two days anyway… And then – Passover. Now there’s a great week of food…

Please comment – good or bad! I don’t want to feel like I am writing to myself. That’s what my diary is for.

2 Responses to “Cooking/Food! #2”

  1. Linda April 4, 2012 at 8:13 pm #

    I just can not figure where a little girl like you puts everything.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Adventure #2! Back from Vegas and other anecdotes « Suddenly Single - April 6, 2012

    […] you check out my latest FOOD post you can read about my 5 days of gluttony. But the main purpose of the trip was ADVENTURE. […]

Leave a Reply

