Cooking/Food #3!

30 Apr

Sometimes, I pay for other people to make my food and drink and sometimes I make it on my own. Recently, I went for dinner with friends, and they suggested we go to Chez Levesque. Now, I had never been to this place before, but I’m always up for something new. And – to sweeten the pot, they have a $21 special if you dine after 9pm. There are a bunch of restaurants offering a less expensive late-night menu. The issue, is that most of these specials only start at 10. I was happy to be able to be seated at 9:30! And – part of the drink menu was $6.66 a drink. Who needs to go to the bar after and pay double?

While the service at this place was only average, one thing I really appreciated was the sample of my beef tartare before it came out to me. The chef wanted to make sure it was to my liking. Delicious!

Starter: Onion Soup, Main: Boeuf Tartare, Drink: Amaretto Sour, Dessert: A spoonful of my friends’ sorbet

There are a WHOLE bunch of restaurants around Montreal that offer less expensive dining after 9 or 10. The great thing is that when you are friends with people who observe the Sabbath and they won’t go out before the sun sets – you’re not at the restaurant before then anyway!

On my list to try this summer will be:

There’s also this other restaurant that I’d really like to try – I keep passing by it in my car and it just looks so interesting! I hope the food is good too! It’s called Chez Ma Grosse Truie Cherie.

Now sometimes, I cook for myself. I did that last night, and it was a huge success! Such a success that I ate the same thing all over again tonight as well. That’s the beauty and the pain of cooking for one.

Roasted salmon and asparagus and the BEST salad I’ve ever made (if I do say so myself).

I made an Asian marinated salmon, roasted asparagus and a lovely salad. The salad had red peppers, orange peppers, avocado, fresh basil, green onion and a lovely vinaigrette using all sorts of Asian inspired ingredients like sesame oil, Sriracha, etc. I will definitely be perfecting this over time in order to serve to others!

BTW – Sriracha makes EVERYTHING taste better.

That’s it in food town.

Please comment – good or bad! I don’t want to feel like I am writing to myself. That’s what my diary is for.

4 Responses to “Cooking/Food #3!”

  1. Steph May 1, 2012 at 12:04 am #

    Ok, first of all- when are you inviting me over for that salmon and salad combo? It’s way more fun to cook for two and then there’s less of a chance leftovers. 2nd of all- can you do some research into the veggie and vegan restos that are out there? Just heard about the Green Panther the other night and it sounded interesting. Also I have a coupon for crudessence that has to be used by July- who’s in??

  2. ANNE May 1, 2012 at 9:12 am #

    I highly agree with you, SRIRACHA does make everything taste better!!!

  3. stephanie May 2, 2012 at 10:23 pm #

    Let me know when you want to go to Les Enfants Terribles! It looks amazing!!!!

Leave a Reply

