Online Dating #8! Putting Steve Harvey into Action

23 May

There’s no shame in admitting that I really enjoyed the book Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Man. Steve Harvey did get a few things right when he put this book together.

1. Standards – get some. That’s pretty much the gist of it. How many times have you (or I) made excuses for a member of the opposite sex just because we didn’t want to be alone. He didn’t call because he’s busy. He wasn’t nice to my friends because he had a bad day. He didn’t invite me to “fill in the blank,” because we don’t know each other well enough. How about because we just didn’t set out our expectations and we get what we put out there? Yes, of course, always exceptions to the rule. But also – maybe an ex of mine wasn’t always so nice to my friends because I never let him know that I expected him to be? Sounds stupid, but some people are dumb! It works both ways… Just this week, a guy sent me a text message that read “And yes, I am asking you out for a drink.” My reply was “I don’t go out with guys who ask me out via text message.” And I won’t. I’m a lady.

2. Waiting to have sex. 3-date rule, 10-date rule, whatever you think it is, it probably isn’t enough… In his book, there’s a whole chapter about the 90-day rule. I don’t know too many people who have put this into action, but my most successful relationship (though whether it can be called a success since it’s over is a whole other story) was that way primarily because we waited quite some time. And got to know each other. A friend of mine was discussing an encounter of hers with me the other day, and how awkward it was after, the next day, etc. Well duh!?! You barely even knew the guy’s birthday, how do you expect it to be afterwards?

3. A man with a plan. If you meet a man who can’t admit that he wants to get married, have kids, etc and he’s in his 30’s already – run for the fucking hills as fast as you can. It doesn’t mean YOU are the one, but it does mean he’s looking for the one. There’s not much more to say about this except that if you meet a guy who isn’t secure in his position chances are he isn’t going to have room for you in his life, at this point in time. Again, of course there are always exceptions to the rule – sometimes a guy just needs a good kick in the ass (girls too!) – but my experience has been of the non-exceptional kind. Plus, I can admit that I’m not in a patient phase – please, please, please man of my dreams have a career/good family/great friends already! I’ve spent a lot of time working on me, so I hope you have been working on you.

If you need a good laugh, please watch this video – makes me feel like I’m not being honest enough:

http://www.dailymotion.com/embed/video/xo797x
Upstairs by shawnwines

It made me laugh so hard that I almost cried tears of joy.

In an effort to date, I gave my number to a guy last night that I “met” on POF. He just sent me a text message. He asked me for a drink. I replied that I am free and if he calls to ask I will say yes because I am a lady and have standards. Let’s see if he thinks I am completely insane or actually calls… Will keep you posted.

******************************************************************************************

Review of this past week’s episode of Girls.

This episode was completely Hannah-centric and there were some hilarious scenes and of course, the usual cringe-inducing-oh-boy-I-may-have-done-that moments.

1. How many people thought that Hannah dropped her bag on the ground purposely? So that her dad would do the rest of the work? That is how spoiled I think she is. The icing on the cake was everything falling out of the bag.

2. I’ve never raided my parents fridge quite like that. Not even with a case of the munchies.

3. The date with Eric the pharmacist. Her nervousness was cute and didn’t come across as snobby to me, but what was all that talk in bed? Poor guy was trying to be all nice, I won’t force you, etc, and Hannah’s breaking out the weirdest, most awkward dirty talk in the universe! Honey, you suck at it. Embrace it! Stop doing it. Please. It hurts my ears. Yes, sometimes I talk to fictional characters. I did appreciate her reaction to Heather’s awful dance skills. Maybe she should try out for SYTYCD before running off to LA?

4. Oh the scene with her parents in the shower. And her dad hurting himself. It amazed me that she is so bloody immature, but mature enough to handle helping her naked (and mortified) father off the bathroom floor and into his bed. I laughed a lot during this scene.

5. Adam is a dick. He thinks she’s in Ohio? Maybe they’ve never talked about it before, but somehow I would hope that making her grip her ankles while he does her from behind would be enough of a reason to remember where she’s from. And why was he so nice during that call? I know! He can’t get laid. So he misses her. How sweet.

Verdict: I am enjoying this show.

Please comment – good or bad! I don’t want to feel like I am writing to myself. That’s what my diary is for.

One Response to “Online Dating #8! Putting Steve Harvey into Action”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The NYT Really Pissed Me Off « Suddenly Single - January 21, 2013

    […] summarize though -Ladies, get some standards (like wise, old, Steve Harvey tells us) and force men to stop having commitment-phobia. To me, the thinly veiled message is that […]

Leave a Reply

