Adventure #6 – Crossing an item off the list!

7 Jul

Well, first – apologies. I’ve honestly been so busy the last little while that I haven’t had the time to post. And now I’ve got a backlog of information stuck in my head and I’m not sure how I’m going to get it all out.

Before leaving on my 11-day business trip journey, I went to see Radiohead with a friend. We had fantastic seats! This was definitely not on my list of things to do when I started this blog – I already had the tickets. But we had a great time!!

Radiohead concert – June 15, 2012

Most importantly: NEWSIES!

Originally, I was supposed to break up a business trip by visiting an old friend in NYC and going to see Newsies with him. Things happen, life changes, we aren’t friends anymore (and really – that’s VERY OK), but there was a brief moment where I feared that I wouldn’t get to see the show. There was also a moment of relief when I checked into my hotel in Boston and there was a package waiting for me. I took a friend to see the show and we had an awesome time in NYC.

What an insane day it was! We left our hotel in Boston at 8am, parked and ready to hit the town at 1pm. There was some major NYC traffic that day with all sorts of streets blocked off.

First stop: Chinatown. Jerky and fried dough balls. And some street food. I will post all about this in my Food section.

Second stop: A new store (I really liked this place) Brooklyn Industries. Did a little shopping. Bought my brother a crazy cat t-shirt. He loves cats though he’s extremely allergic to them. I make fun of him all the time – mostly because I think cats are gross. The t-shirt has cats, it has laser beams. Amazing!

Third stop: Palm Reader. I should have had it on my list. I should add it right now and immediately scratch it off. It’s something I’ve always been curious about. Now, “Esmerelda” (that’s what I’m calling her) had a big sign outside.

You’ll notice that the sign says “No Appointment Needed.” I chose a moment to make a joke. I made myself giggle, and my friend. I have made friends giggle when I told them about it.

Do you know why there’s no appointment needed? Because she knows you’re coming! (Insert laughter here).

Before we went in, we had a lovely chat with some recent high school graduates who go see Esmerelda on a regular basis for guidance about their futures. One girl got a prediction that she would be a designer and now she’s going to an interior design program. Oh my! Esmerelda must have special powers. What’s she going to tell me?? Anyway, my friend went first and I won’t comment about her experience because it’s personal but I’m more than happy to share with you all the things that Esmerelda told me.

I went online before posting today and read about on Palm Reading. If you’re interested in getting some more information in order to read your own palm, click HERE.

Here’s what Esmerelda told me:

    1. That at some point in the last few years I had a difficult time with my parents because I dated someone they didn’t really approve of (True).
    2. That I have a relative I am worried about. That I need to pray for her, but that she will be ok.
    3. That I was a doctor in my past life, but now I work in something creative. That I switched jobs in the last year and have been working very hard, and noticed for my work. That I will have a long career with this company, but that I will move away from Montreal (dun dun dun).
    4. That I need to RELAX. I will get married and have a family. That I need to stop falling in love so quickly.
    5. That I am emotionally unstable, correction, a very sensitive person.
    6. That I’ve been working very hard on personal development.
    7. That I’ve been hurt by love 3 times.
    8. That Sunday is my lucky day and white my lucky colour.

Now let’s be honest. This woman took one look at my lack of wedding-type jewelry and was able to deduce the kinds of things I wanted to hear… but she was fairly accurate and it was so weird!After the palm reading, we bought shoes. There’s nothing better than the feeling of buying a fun pair of shoes. And then we had dinner. AMAZING! Go to Eataly if you are in NYC. I know, mainstream, food network, bla bla… but it was a GREAT meal.

We walked from Chinatown to the Nederlander Theatre. and then NEWSIES!!!!!!

I laughed, I cried, I sang along. I bought a magnet. It’s on my fridge. And when the show was over, I waited outside for the cast to sign my playbill! Woohoo! If you look closely, you can make out Alex Wong’s signature – he’s from So You Think You Can Dance. Amazing!

And then, the worst part of the day. The drive back to Boston. We got back to our hotel at 4:30am. Blarg. What a terrible sleep…

And then I was there for another week. Celebrated my birthday without my family for the first time. My colleagues were so terrific and made me feel very special. And then I got to drive back to Montreal HUNGOVER. Oh that was a terrible drive. Nothing a little pit stop at the Merrimack Premium Outlets can’t fix.

For more adventure news: The cupcake bake-off is on! July 14th. I’ve found a local store where I can buy pretty cupcake wrappers. That should pretty up the paper plates everyone will be eating off of!

And finally, I think I may have found my dog. More to come…

2 Responses to “Adventure #6 – Crossing an item off the list!”

  1. A July 11, 2012 at 3:03 pm #

    I love your brother’s shirt and this one: http://www.brooklynindustries.com/graphic-t-shirts-womens-best-sellers/raccoon-camera-w-graphic-t-shirt

    • A July 11, 2012 at 3:04 pm #

      …in black 🙂

Leave a Reply

