Adventure #7! Baking and puppies

16 Jul

I had a great week. I spent time with good friends, hosted a brunch for about 18 people and managed to cross two items off my list.

Item #1 – I baked.

As I mentioned in a previous entry, I was gearing up to bake something from scratch for the first time. Now, those who know me know that I am not a patient person. I love to cook, but I don’t like to follow recipes exactly. And I’m not SUPER into sweet foods. Hand me a bag of chips! But I did it. I prepared a wonderful vanilla cupcake with vanilla buttercream and rainbow sprinkles. They were amazing! I might just go eat one for dessert.

Now, I couldn’t do this alone. I would have spent the night on my floor crying and I don’t have the proper mixer. Mom to the rescue. My mom is an excellent cook and baker, but her decorating skills are non-existent so Aunty A to the rescue! Cousin K came along for moral support/sugar sifting/comic relief. What a fun evening.

Here’s how it worked out:

All the ingredients needed for the cupcakes!

We mixed up the batter for the cupcakes:

Cupcake batter.

Then into the cupcake papers they went (they were Mickey Mouse):

Prettying up the cupcakes in the papers.

Don’t forget to make the icing:

Time to make the icing.

Once they were baked and cooled, my Aunty A used her magical skills to create the perfect mounds of buttercream on top of them. I then sprinkled away with my coloured candies and voila! Cupcakes. Amazing. Thanks to my helpers for assisting!

Perfection (and tastes amazing!)

These cupcakes were baked for my birthday brunch that I hosted just yesterday because I have amazing friends and it’s nice to have them all over. My last friend left at 11pm. It was a great day.

Item #2 – Puppy!

Not too much to say yet, I want to get her home first but I have a story in the works about my new friend. Her name is Charlie and she’s an adorable, little rescue dog who was abandoned on moving day. So sad that people can be so cruel to animals. At least drop the dog off at a shelter! Don’t just leave the dog in a field somewhere.

Leave a Reply

