The Time Cliche Karma Kicked My A$$

23 Jan

Once upon a time, a LONG time ago, my best friend broke up with my other best friend. They were dating. I had introduced them one summer night in Toronto and they had fallen in love. And then they weren’t in love and my friend came to me for a shoulder to lean on (through the Internet because she was far away) and I said to her: “It takes two to tango.” She tells me today that if I were to say that to her now, her response would be “Go fuck yourself!” I just checked, and her answer was “Hey man, there’s nothing harder than to realise you’re alone on the dance floor.” Fighting clichés with clichés!

We laugh about this particular episode now. It wasn’t so funny back then, though. My friend was really upset with me.

Payback’s a bitch!

The other day, I was texting with a close friend. The conversation centered around – let’s call it “man annoyance.”

“Understandable but at the end of the day if it’s meant to be it’s meant to be and if it ain’t it ain’t.”

I wanted to respond “Go fuck yourself.”

I wrote “Thanks, that’s very wise.” This was one of those moments where an emotions via text app would’ve helped.

Response: “You’re welcome. Well honestly life is too short to dwell about anything. You have to enjoy the present moment and trust that everything happens for a reason.”

And that, my dear S is karma in its truest form. I now totally understand how you felt when you just wanted a shoulder to lean on, but instead I gave you a steaming pile of crap because I just didn’t know what to say.

And to the friend who sent those messages. I still love you. It sucks to not know what to say. Been there. Done that. T-shirt’s in the mail.

Leave a Reply

